Stora Enso sites uses cookies in order to provide you with the best user experience. You consent to the use of cookies by continuing the use of the site. You can change your browser settings at any time. For further information on cookies, please see our privacy and cookie policy.


Sustainability and ethics committee

The Board has a Sustainability and Ethics Committee1) which is responsible for overseeing the Company’s global responsibility and ethical business conduct, its strive to be a responsible corporate
citizen, and its contribution to sustainable development. The Committee regularly reviews Stora Enso’s Sustainability Strategy and Ethics and Compliance Strategy and, in accordance with Stora Enso’s corporate governance structure, oversees their effective implementation. In its work the Committee takes into consideration Stora Enso’s Purpose and Values as well as Code of Conduct and Business Practice Policy.

The Committee comprises two to four Board members who are nominated annually by the Board. The members are independent of and not affiliated with Stora Enso. At least one Committee member is expected to have sufficient prior knowledge and experience in handling responsibility and ethics matters. The Committee meets regularly, at least two times a year. The Chairman of the Committee presents a report on each Sustainability and Ethics Committee meeting to the Board. The tasks and responsibilities of the Committee are defined in its charter, which is approved by the Board. Sustainability and Ethics Committee members may receive remuneration solely based on their role as directors. The compensation is decided by the shareholders at an AGM.
1) The name of the committee was Global Responsibility and Ethics Committee
until 14 December 2015.
Current members
Anne Brunila (chairman), Elisabeth Fleuriot and Richard Nilsson were elected  as members of the Sustainability and Ethics Committee on 28 April 2016. 
Remuneration: chairperson EUR 10 000 and member 6 000 per annum as decided by the AGM in 2015.
In 2015
The Sustainability and Ethics Committee comprised three members in 2015: Anne Brunila (Chairman), Elisabeth Fleuriot and Richard Nilsson1). The Committee convened 4 times. During 2015, the focus areas of Committee’s meetings have related to a functional review of areas relevant for the Committee’s work, including a review of the Company’s sustainability strategy and organisation as well as the compliance organisation and compliance reporting. The Committee has further provided training for the new Committee members.
1) Elisabeth Fleuriot and Richard Nilsson members since 22 April 2015,
Birgitta Kantola member of the Committee 1 January 2015 to 22 April 2015.